Skip to content

Main Competition Jury of 22. CINEMAFORUM

The films presented in the Main Competition of the 22nd CINEMAFORUM will be assessed by Anna Jadowska, Kaja Krawczuk-Wnuk, Maria Sobocińska, and, in accordance with tradition, Janusz Zaorski as the chairman.

The International Competition is the main highlight of CINEMAFORUM’s program. Just as in previous editions of the festival, we have invited respected figures in the film industry to the jury, who will assess 15 short films from around the world.

This year, our jury members include director and screenwriter Anna Jadowska, screenwriter and producer Kaja Krawczyk-Wnuk, actress Maria Sobocińska, and – traditionally – the eminent screenwriter, director, and film producer Janusz Zaorski, serving as the chairman.

You can check the profiles of the jurors below.

Director and screenwriter. Her latest film, “Kobieta na dachu” (2022), premiered in competition at the Tribeca Film Festival in New York. The film received the award for Best Leading Actress for Dorota Pomykała and won the main prize in the Polish Films Competition at the Camerimage festival in Poland.

Her previous film, “Dzikie Róże,” received the Stockholm Impact Award at the International Film Festival in Stockholm, the Grand Prize at the Cottbus festival, and the Krzysztof Krauze Award presented by the Guild of Polish Directors, along with a nomination for Eagles in the Best Director category.

Anna’s directorial debut was the film “Dotknij mnie” (2003), which was presented at the Berlinale and received awards such as the Grand Prize in the Independent Cinema Competition at the Gdynia Film Festival and the Golden Duck for the best off-film. Her next film, “Teraz ja” (2004), was also awarded at the Gdynia Film Festival as the best debut film in the Main Competition.

Anna is also a renowned director of TV series. She co-directed one of the episodes of the project “Erotica 2022,” the first Polish Netflix original film, and worked on productions such as “Otwórz oczy” for Netflix and “Ultraviolet” for AXN.

A graduate of film studies at the Jagiellonian University and film and television production at the PWSFTviT in Łódź. A member of the Polish and European Film Academy. The main screenwriter of the TV series “Prawo Agaty” and the producer of the first Polish HBO series, “Bez tajemnic.”

She co-wrote the film “Polot,” which was recognized in the Script Pro competition in 2018. She wrote the screenplay adapted for “Żeby nie było śladów” by Jan P. Matuszyński (based on Cezary Łazarewicz’s reportage), presented in the main competition of the Venice Film Festival and awarded with Silver Lions in Gdynia. She is the winner of the first edition of the Script Fiesta festival competition for the best screenplay of a Polish feature film.

A graduate of the Theatre Academy in Warsaw. She made her debut in Wojtek Smarzowski’s “Wołyn.” She is known for her roles in films such as “Pan T” by Marcin Krzyształowicz, “Wszystko dla mojej matki” by Małgorzata Imielska, and the series “Sexify” directed by Piotr Domalewski and Kalina Alabrudzińska. She has been nominated for the Eagles twice.

An academic lecturer with a doctorate in directing. He graduated from the Directing Department of the Film School in Łódź.

As a director, he made his debut in 1970 with the film “Na dobranoc.” He also appeared as an actor in several films. In 1987, he became the chairman of the Polish Federation of Film Discussion Clubs, and in 1988, he became the artistic director of the “Dom” Film Studio. From 1987 to 1989, he was a member of the Film Committee, and from 1991 to 1993, he served as the president of the Committee for Radio and Television, and from 1994 to 1995, he was the chairman of the National Broadcasting Council.

He has directed several feature films, including “Matka Królów” (1982, Silver Bear in Berlin, Golden Lions in Gdynia), “Jezioro Bodeńskie” (1985, Golden Leopard in Locarno), “Piłkarski poker” (1988), “Szczęśliwego Nowego Jorku” (1997, Best Director Award in Gdynia), “Syberiada Polska” (2013, Grand Prix in Seattle).

In 2011, he was awarded the Golden Medal for Merit to Culture “Gloria Artis” by Minister Bogdan Zdrojewski. He is also the recipient of the “TeleSplendor” award and the Jan Machulski Award for his contributions to Polish independent cinema. Since 2013, he has been the Chairman of the Program Council of the KOSMOPOLIS Institute of Science, Culture, and Education. He is a member of the European Film Academy.

The above-mentioned jury will evaluate 15 competition films and award the Grand Prix of the festival. The jurors will also have the opportunity to award other films with honorable mentions. We will learn their verdict on November 26, 2023, during the closing gala of the festival.


The organiser of the festival is the FILMFORUM Association.

The project is co-financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage from the Fund for the Promotion of Culture and by the funds of the City of Warsaw. The festival is co-financed by the Polish Film Institute.

The main festival venue is the Atlantic Cinema in Warsaw.

The Andrzej Wajda Centre for Film Culture is the main partner of the event.

The programming partners of the festival are: Mazovia Warsaw Film CommissionMazovia Institute of CultureAmerican Film Festival and British Council.

BEIKS Machulski is the technological partner of the project.